Skip to content

We buy diamonds and jewellery, find out more here!


Diamonds Explained

Welcome to the fascinating world of diamonds! In this article, we will delve into the intricacies of diamonds, exploring their various shapes, the importance of the four Cs, and the significance of diamond certifications provided by renowned institutions such as GIA, IGI, and HRD.

Diamond Shapes: A Kaleidoscope of Beauty

Diamonds come in a myriad of shapes, each with its own unique characteristics and allure. From the classic round brilliant to the elegant princess cut, and from the vintage-inspired cushion cut to the modern emerald cut, there is a shape to suit every taste and style.

When choosing a diamond shape, it is essential to consider personal preference, as well as the design of the jewelry piece. Round diamonds, for example, are known for their exceptional brilliance and versatility, making them a popular choice for engagement rings. On the other hand, fancy shapes like the marquise or pear can add a touch of individuality and sophistication to any jewelry design. Longer diamond shapes can suit longer fingers, popular oblong diamond shapes include emerald cut, elongated radiant, oval and marquise.

The Four Cs: Decoding Diamond Quality

Now, let's explore the four Cs of diamond quality: cut, color, clarity, and carat weight. These factors play a crucial role in determining the value and beauty of a diamond.

Cut: The cut of a diamond refers to how well it has been shaped and faceted. A well-cut diamond reflects light in a way that maximizes its brilliance and sparkle. The quality of the cut is graded on a scale from Excellent to Poor, with Excellent being the most desirable.

Color: Diamonds come in a range of colors, from colorless to various shades of yellow and brown. The Gemological Institute of America (GIA) grades diamond color on a scale from D (colorless) to Z (light yellow or brown). Colorless diamonds are the most valuable and sought after.

Clarity: Clarity refers to the presence of internal or external flaws, known as inclusions and blemishes, respectively. The clarity grade ranges from Flawless (no inclusions or blemishes visible under 10x magnification) to Included (inclusions visible to the naked eye). Diamonds with higher clarity grades are more valuable.

Carat Weight: Carat weight measures the size of a diamond. One carat is equivalent to 200 milligrams. As the carat weight increases, so does the size and price of the diamond. However, it is important to note that carat weight alone does not determine a diamond's quality.

Diamond Certifications: Ensuring Authenticity and Quality

When purchasing a diamond, it is crucial to ensure its authenticity and quality. This is where diamond certifications come into play. GIA, IGI, and HRD are internationally recognized gemological laboratories that provide reliable and unbiased assessments of a diamond's characteristics.

GIA (Gemological Institute of America): GIA is one of the most respected and trusted diamond grading institutions in the world. Their certifications provide detailed information about a diamond's cut, color, clarity, and carat weight. GIA certificates are widely accepted and valued in the diamond industry.

IGI (International Gemological Institute): IGI is another renowned gemological laboratory that offers diamond certifications. Their reports provide an accurate assessment of a diamond's quality, including the four Cs. IGI certifications are recognized globally and provide assurance to buyers. For all of our lab-grown diamonds we use IGI as the main laboratory.

HRD (Hoge Raad voor Diamant): HRD is a Belgian diamond grading laboratory known for its expertise and strict grading standards. Their certifications offer a comprehensive evaluation of a diamond's characteristics, ensuring transparency and trust in the diamond market.

By choosing a diamond with a reputable certification, customers can have confidence in the authenticity and quality of their purchase.

Now that you have a deeper understanding of diamonds, their shapes, the importance of the four Cs, and the significance of diamond certifications, you are well-equipped to make an informed decision when selecting your perfect diamond.

Remember, diamonds are not only exquisite symbols of love and beauty but also fascinating creations of nature that have captivated humanity for centuries.

Our bespoke creations

We sketch and design many pieces of jewellery every day for our clients across the globe. Simply fill out our form and we can get started. We would have this initial sketch created within 48 hours.

Enquire now